Grant Reeher http://wrvo.org en Syracuse Councilor-at-Large candidates discuss city government http://wrvo.org/post/syracuse-councilor-large-candidates-discuss-city-government <p></p><p>Three candidates running for Syracuse Common Councilor-at-Large in a September primary joined Grant Reheer's Campbell Conversation to talk about the role of the city's legislative branch of government.</p> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 12:20:31 +0000 Ellen Abbott 42376 at http://wrvo.org Campbell Debate: Is Religion Hurting Our Politics? http://wrvo.org/post/campbell-debate-religion-hurting-our-politics <p>The Campbell Institute of Public Affairs at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University presents the second in a series of debates on timely issues of public importance, with a fresh, provocative format.</p><p> Mon, 06 Aug 2012 13:54:16 +0000 Grant Reeher 17868 at http://wrvo.org Campbell Debate: Is Religion Hurting Our Politics? Tanner Lecture Series: Bill Bradley http://wrvo.org/post/tanner-lecture-series-bill-bradley <p>A lecture on public responsibility by former senator, presidential candidate, and NBA Hall of Famer Bill Bradley.</p><p>This lecture, hosted by Grant Reeher of the Campbell Conversations, took place on April 10, 2012 in the Maxwell Auditorium on the Syracuse University campus. The lecture series is presented by the Campbell Public Affairs Institute. Feel free to visit their website for <a href="http://www.campbellinstitute.org">more information on this lecture and future lectures</a> in the series.</p><p> Fri, 29 Jun 2012 18:12:06 +0000 Grant Reeher 21807 at http://wrvo.org Tanner Lecture Series: Bill Bradley Bob Dougherty on the Campbell Conversations http://wrvo.org/post/bob-dougherty-campbell-conversations <p>Bob Dougherty is new to politics, but in his first year on the Syracuse Common Council, he's been drinking from a fire hose.</p><p>Given the current political climate- both national and local- why did he choose now to become involved?</p><p> Fri, 18 May 2012 20:00:00 +0000 Grant Reeher 19497 at http://wrvo.org Jill Stein on the Campbell Conversations http://wrvo.org/post/jill-stein-campbell-conversations <p>Jill Stein is the Green Party&#39;s nominee-apparent for President of the United States. In this conversations she outlines the party&#39;s main goals and message in its run for the White House.</p><p> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 20:03:24 +0000 Grant Reeher 18351 at http://wrvo.org Michel Martin on the Campbell Conversations http://wrvo.org/post/michel-martin-campbell-conversations <p><span>Michel</span> <span>Martin</span> is host of NPR&#39;s Tell Me More program, which is celebrating its fifth anniversary on the air.&nbsp; In this conversation, <i>she </i>tells how the show has evolved in its approach toward race, ethnicity, and diversity; what areas she&#39;d like to see the show&nbsp;expand into in the future; the difference that radio can make in reporting a story and talking with people; and how the experience of doing the show has affected her.</p><p> Fri, 20 Apr 2012 19:28:52 +0000 Grant Reeher 17954 at http://wrvo.org Michel Martin on the Campbell Conversations Jean Bethke Elshtain on The Campbell Conversations http://wrvo.org/post/jean-bethke-elshtain-campbell-conversations <p><font face="Calibri" size="2"><span style="font-size: 11pt;">What is the state of American democracy?&nbsp; What are the roots of our democratic shortcomings, and what do we need to do to improve the health of the political process?&nbsp; Jean Bethke Elshtain, democratic theorist, ethicist, and noted public intellectual at the University of Chicago&mdash;and author of <i>Democracy on Trial</i>&mdash;wrestles with these mighty questions in this substantively rich interview.&nbsp; Elshtain has also written an influential book on just war&mdash;<i>Just War Against</i><i> Terror</i>&mdash;and s Wed, 12 Oct 2011 11:15:18 +0000 Grant Reeher 7615 at http://wrvo.org Jean Bethke Elshtain on The Campbell Conversations