Tue June 10, 2014
Station Announcement

WRVO News team brings home awards this spring

Catherine Loper, director of news and public affairs.
Syracuse Press Club

Each spring, news departments across the state are honored for the work they've done in the past year. This year, WRVO entered news stories in several awards competitions across the state and country. The lists that follow indicates which awards the WRVO News team and supporting staff took home for work completed during 2013.

We would like to thank all of our reporters, past and present, for their hard work and continued success.

Read more


Tue May 7, 2013
Station Announcement

Honors and awards for 2012

From left to right: Mark Lavonier, Ryan Delaney, Joanna Richards and Ellen Abbott accepting awards at the Syracuse Press Club awards dinner.

Recently, the WRVO news team has been recognized for their achievements by press organizations in Syracuse and statewide. Saturday, May 4, awards were presented by the Syracuse Press Club (SPC) for the best central New York journalism in 2012.

Read more


Tue June 5, 2012
Station Announcement

WRVO earns top honor at AP awards

Ryan Delaney, left, and Catherine Loper accept awards from the New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association.

WRVO received the lion's share of first-place awards this past weekend at the New York State Associated Press Broadcasters Association's annual news awards competition.  For the second year in a row, WRVO received the NYSAPBA's Steve Flanders Award presented to the radio station with the largest number of first-place awards in the annual competition.  WRVO News Director Catherine Loper and Innovation Trail reporter Ryan Delaney represented WRVO at the awards presentation.

Below is the complete list of awards presented to WRVO:

Read more